Hodge Hill College

Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College Life at Hodge Hill College

Hodge Hill College   webpage links for SMSC:

 

 

 

 

 

 

SMSC, RSE & British Values

At Hodge Hill College we provide a positive ethos based upon British values that are shared across the school community. The culture and ethos of the school promotes respect as well as healthy and productive attitudes towards learning, life and work. Pupils are encouraged to contribute to the life and work of the school and, from the earliest stages, to exercise their responsibilities as members of a community. The focus of SMSC and RSE programmes is to empower students to stay safe and share the positive British values of society

 

British Values

At Hodge Hill College we uphold and teach pupils about British Values which are defined as: 

  • Democracy 
  • Rule of law
  • Individual liberty
  • Mutual respect 
  • Tolerance of those of different faiths and beliefs  

These values are reflected in our CARE brand and taught explicitly through the Collective Worship programme and Religious Education. We also teach British Values through planning and delivering a broad and balanced curriculum. 

 

RSE

 

We aim to provide an environment at Hodge Hill College were young people can develop and flourish.  RSE is fundamental part of our SMSC programme preparing students for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of adult life. RSE at Hodge Hill College focuses on relationships and issues that arise from relationships. In delivering RSE it is our aim for pupils to develop a healthy, safer lifestyle.

 

During the school year there are a number of discrete sessions where pupils focus on RSE issues. Our SRE curriculum is in line with statutory guidance on RSE. Planning also takes into consideration local priorities reached through agreement with the Child protection and Pastoral team.  Some discrete RSE sessions may be in smaller single sex groups in order to provide pupils with an environment where they feel comfortable and to enable them to get the maximum benefit from each session. For example, sex education is delivered in smaller single sex groups.

 

Parents have the legal right to request to have their child excused from sex education. Sex education is delivered as part of the RSE curriculum. For any child to be withdrawn a request would need to be put in writing to the Head Teacher. Parents only have the legal right to withdraw children up until three terms before the child turns 16. After that point, if the child wishes to receive sex education rather than be withdrawn, the school should make arrangements to provide the child with sex education.

 

 

SMSC

 

At Hodge Hill College we aim to provide a community ethos that enables pupils to grow as individuals, appreciating their own worth and the worth of others. Throughout the curriculum in all subjects, staff work towards developing the Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural (SMSC) needs of all pupils. SMSC education develops pupils’ appreciation and understanding of different people’s feelings and values, cultural diversity and different communities.  Hodge Hill College has a caring ethos that nurtures the whole student and SMSC is a vital part of pupils’ development to ensure they become fully rounded and valued people.

 

 

Collective Worship

 

At Hodge Hill College we have a collective worship calendar that provides pupils with an opportunity to consider spiritual and moral issues and to explore their own beliefs. The aim is to develop community spirit, promote a common ethos and shared values, and reinforce positive attitudes. Each week the Collective Worship calendar has a focus that provides pupils with an opportunity for reflection and spiritual development. The focus of the week is delivered through ‘Thought for the day’, which is presented during morning registration and a leadership assembly once a week for each year group.

 

Focus for the first half of Autumn Term: CARE

Week Beginning Theme for the week
Monday 2nd September Head Teachers Address
Monday 9th September CARE
Monday 16th September Democracy
Monday 23rd  September Peace

Monday 30th September

Love of Learning
Monday 7th October Black History Month
Monday 14th October Poverty
Monday 21st October Caring for others: St Basils

 Focus for the second half of Autumn Term: Courtesy

Week Beginning Theme for the week
Monday 4th November  Head Teachers Address
Monday 11th November Rememberance
Monday 18th November Anti-Bullying
Monday 25th November Children in Need
Monday 2nd December Abolition of Slavery
Monday 9th December Value of Courtesy
Monday 16th December Celebration

 

Focus for the first half of Spring Term: Achievement

Week Beginning Theme for the week
Monday 6th January        

Head Teachers Address

Monday 13th January Community
Monday 20th January Achievement
Monday 27th January Holocaust Memorial
Monday 3rd February National Story Telling Week
Monday 10th February  Heroes of Achievement
Focus for the second half of Spring Term: Respect
Week Beginning Theme for the week
Monday 24th  February    

 Head Teachers Address        

Monday 2nd March World Book Day
Monday 9th March Pi Day
Monday 16th March Comic Relief
Monday 23rd March Mothering
Monday 30th March Respect
Monday 3rd April Forgiveness

 

Focus for the first half of Summer Term: Empathy

Week Beginning Theme for the week
Monday 20th April           

Head Teachers Address                   

Monday 27th April Empathy
Monday 4th May Mental Health
Monday 11th   May Diversity
Monday 18th May

Dementia

Focus for the second half of Summer Term: CARE

Week Beginning Theme for the week
Monday 1st June

Head Teachers Address

Monday 8th June Environment
Monday 15th  June Safe Asylum
Monday 22nd June CARE
Monday 29th June Being a Good Citizen
Monday 6th July Helping Others
Monday 13th July Value of Work